top of page

Waiting on the Wonderful

What a ride this has been! Never thought I would be writing a blog post to promote my new book and publishing company but here we are. Well over a year ago my son and I were chatting and it made me think of a great idea for a story (spoiler alert - it wasn't even Got Your Nose! Totally different story to be released at a later date.) I wrote it up in an afternoon. And with high hopes I sent it off into the world certain that publishers would recognize my genius.

They didn't.

Getting published usually only happens to a few types of people

* people who are already published

* people who have that one incredible story and know how to work it

I was not one of these people. I was however getting good feedback from both publishers and agents after a lot of editing. "Cute!" seemed to be the token rejection line. And while doing copious amounts of research into the publishing field I came across a blog from a lady who self published a ton of titles. Her advice - if you get good feedback, you likely have a great book. Publishing companies won't pick up titles unless they are guaranteed to make money off of it and so an unestablished author has a very little chance of breaking through.

Introduce self publishing idea. Dismiss it as too expensive. Continue sending book out and receiving rejections. Repeat for 8 months = my life.

Speak with an amazing lady. She gets the ball rolling and re ignited the fire of my idea. Realize that I CAN do this! And so I do.

Got Your Nose! - coming April 2017


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page